How do I Import Settings and Data from Another ADE Installation? (1.65)
If you install a new production or beta version of ADE it will be in a new installation folder. The settings and data files in the new installation will be the default ones. If you have an existing installation you might want to copy the settings and data from that installation into the new one. Here's how
Access the import settings function
This is available from the New User Wizard. The wizard will usually appear the first time that you start ADE in a new version. You can also access it later via Tools > New User Wizard. You need to be aware that ADE will copy settings files and other files from the existing installation to the new one. So you should not use this function if you have already modified any of the data. Your changes may be lost.
Click Import Settings to get started
When the dialog first opens the import options will be greyed out. The first thing you need to do is find the ADE installation that you want to copy the settings and data from
- Click this small button and in the folder browse dialog navigate to the main folder of the ADE installation you want to copy from
- You can click Cancel at any time if you change your mind about importing.
Once you have entered a valid path to an ADE installation the Import Options will become available. The state of these will depend on what ADE finds in the source installation. The data will automatically be taken from the matching version folder. So if you have opened the new ADE version for FSX then ADE will only import data from that version in the source version. You will need to repeat the import for each version that you use ADE with.
Some may be greyed out which means that for some reason it is not possible or required to import that information. The remainder will be enables and have the checkbox checked. You can choose whether or not to import the information. If you don't want to import something then un-check it. You should generally not change the settings unless you are aware of the implications. In most cases you would want to import as much data as possible. Let's look at each option in turn
The ProKey is stored in the main installation and you will only import it once. The message above shows that the ProKey is already installed in the new version. This option will also be greyed out if there is no ProKey installed in the source installation. If it is available in the source version and not installed in the new version then this option will be enabled and checked
Library object data
Taxi link defaults
Project settings files contain settings information for each project and should be imported if they are available. Since these were introduced in 1.62 your source installation may not have them so this option will be unavailable. If it is available you should import this data if you plan to use the new version with existing projects.
From version 1.65 ADE allows you to create different layouts for each list type in the lister. This option allows you to import these settings into your new installation:
- If the version you are importing from does not support lister settings then this box will be disabled
- If the version does support these settings then you will see the box above
- Lister settings apply to all sim versions in ADE so they only need importing once. If you do import again, or import a different version then this entry will be enabled without the checkbox. If you want to import them again just check the box
Thumbnails are generally stored in a default folder in ADE. However there is the option to use a different folder and some users may have a single folder for thumbnails that they use for all ADE versions. There are three options here:
- ADE needs to find the source version settings file to be able to find out where the thumbnails are. If it can't find the settings file then it will disable this option and you will not be able to import thumbnails. Generally the settings file will be there and if it is not it signifies some issues with the source installation
- The source thumbnails are in the default folder. In this case you will see the option as displayed above and ADE will just import thumbnails from the source installation to the new one
- If the source installation is using a specific folder for thumbnails you will see:
You have a choice. You can either:
- Copy the thumbnails from the specific folder into the default folder in your new installation or
- have your new installation point to the same folder used by the source installation. In this case no thumbnails are copied and both versions will use the same folder for thumbnails
If you are not sure what to do then use the copy option. While this is less efficient in terms of disk space it does mean that if you deleted the specific folder at any time you would not lose the thumbnails in the new version.
Custom Ground Polys is a feature present from version 1.60. ADE will import your texture settings, definition files and textures from the source version to the new version
- If the source version does not support custom ground polys then this box will be greyed out
- If the source version does support them then you will see the box above
- Custom ground poly settings apply to all sim versions in ADE so they only need importing once. If you do import again, or import a different version then this entry will be enabled without the checkbox. If you want to import them again just check the box
What happens when you import data.
- The ProKey will just be copied across
- Settings, Color Settings, Library Object Data, Parking Specs and Taxi link defaults are each stored in a single file. If the file is already found in the new installation then ADE will make a backup of it (by adding .bak) before copying the new data. This means you can restore the old data if you wish
- Project settings, generic buildings and thumbnails are stored in folders with multiple files. For these ADE will create any folders in the source that are not in the new installation. It will then copy any new files. That means that any existing files will not be altered but any new files ill be added. Since existing files in the new installation are not changed no backups are made.
Make sure that you complete the New User Wizard. Don't be tempted to think that all your settings are now made and you can just click Cancel. It is strongly recommended that you now work through the NUW tabs and chexk he information. The tabs will reflect the imported data. However if you did not import some data or that data was not available in the source installation then your setup may be incomplete and not work properly